Gulzar : Chotee Baatein

Saturday, June 17, 2006

maine tayray liye hee saat rang ke sapnay chune
sapnay sureelay sapnay…
I have picked especially for you these colorful dreams
Dreams, magical dreams…
chotee baatein chotee chotee baaton kee hain yaadein badee
bhoolay nahin beetee huee ik chotee ghadi
Small things, long memories linger of very small things
One cannot forget some fleeting moments past
janam janam se aankhen bichaayee tayray liye in raahon ne…
For ages, the present moment has awaited you…
maine tayray liye hee saat rang ke sapne chunay
sapnay sureelay sapnay…
I have picked especially for you these colorful dreams
Dreams, magical dreams…

2 Responses to “Gulzar : Chotee Baatein”

  1. danesh Says:

    thanks for the translation mate 😉

    In a small way (operative word, small), this reminds me of an whole Frank Sinatra song “these foolish things”…

    A cigarette that bears a lipstick’s traces
    An airline
    ticket to romantic places
    And still my heart has wings
    These foolish things remind me of you

    A tinkling
    piano in the next apartment
    Those stumbling words that
    told you what my heart meant
    A fairground’s painted
    swings
    These foolish things remind me of you

    You came, you saw, you conquered me
    When you did that to
    me
    I knew somehow this had to be

    The winds of
    March that make my heart a dancer
    A telephone that rings
    but who’s to answer?
    Oh, how the ghost of you clings

    These foolish things remind me of you

    The
    smile of Turner and the scent of roses
    The waiters
    whistling as the last bar closes
    The song that Crosby
    sings
    These foolish things remind me of you

  2. MMM Says:

    saw an old hindi classic yesterday (Anand) and took a crack at capturing one of its songs’ untranslatable beauty….glad to see it triggered this thought !


Leave a Reply

